What's On!

  Meet the Team

  Club 33


  Photo Gallery


  JRR Race Dates

  Become a JRR Member

 John Bosher is an official

photographer for JRR.



PRESS RELEASE 6th September 2011 more

Jim Read Racing Press Release – 10/7/2011

Willowbank Raceway in Queensland the Winternationals more



Phil Read's Wrap

Nitro Champs – Sydney Dragway, April 30, May 1 & 2, 2010 more




International Recognition For Australian Drag Racing Legend
(Tuesday, 22 September 2009) Posted by Rob Sharp

Earlier this week it was announced that Australian Drag Racing legend Jim Read would be one of eight people inducted into the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame in March 2010.

Apart from Sir Sydney Allard of Great Britain, who was recognised in 1991 when the IDRHOF was created, Read is the only overseas inductee. In 2010 he will be recognised alongside John Buttera, Jack Engle, Leroy Goldstein, Dickie Harrell, Bill Simpson, Bob Stange and Bobby Warren.

Jim Read has been a drag racer since 1966. His career has been one of constant achievement, with 17 National Championships, 16 Australian Championships, 10 Winternationals wins plus many, many more.

He was the first Australian to break the seven-second barrier, the six- second barrier, the five-second barrier and the 300 mph (483 kmh) mark in this country.

In 1982, Read competed in the US. With small budget and a borrowed dragster he was the first Australian to become Top Fuel ‘Top Qualifier’ at an NHRA event.

Jim Read is listed in the Guinness Book of Records, the only motor sport recipient of the Advance Australia Ambassador Award and most recently he was awarded the Australian Sports Medal, presented by then Australian Prime Minister the Hon. John Howard.

In 2003, with perhaps his biggest contribution to the sport in Australia, Jim was a key factor in the return of ANDRA Championship Drag Racing to Sydney after six years of negotiation with the NSW Government.

“Jim has been synonymous with Australian Drag Racing for more than 40 years and his induction to the International Drag Racing Hall of Fame is a fitting and well deserved recognition of his success, and the contribution he’s made,” said ANDRA CEO Tony Thornton.

The IDRHOF Induction Ceremony will take place during the 2010 NHRA Gatornationals on March 11th, 2010 in Gainesville Florida.

read Jim's response>>



Home | Contact Us | About Us

copyright Jim Read Racing

website by Bodds